Star sign symbols: What your zodiac sign’s symbol says about you


Every star sign is known for its unique traits, positive and negative, but did you know that their symbols carry meaning too? Do you know your Water Bearer from your Twins? The signs have a glyph (the tiny symbols seen on a birth chart) and a symbol (the animal signs) linked to them, and both represent the sign’s personality and character. chatted to astrologer Francesca Oddie (@francescaoddieastrology) to find out what your zodiac sign symbol says about you.


Aries is symbolised by the Ram and the glyph sign is supposed to be the horns and nose of the animal.

Francesca said: “Have you ever tried having an argument with a ram? Do you know what rams are like?

“Rams are pretty strong and if you try and get in their way, they’re just going to try and run through you.

“This is indicative of that very feisty Aries direct, head-first nature. It does what it wants.”


Taurus is the Bull and its glyph represents the head and horns of the creature.

Francesca said: “Bulls are very slow and steady but a force to be reckoned with when riled up.

Francesca said: “Like the Bull, Taureans are very strong, deliberate and determined.”

READ MORE-  Aquarius horoscope April 2021: What’s in store for Aquarius?


Gemini is symbolised by The Twins and its glyph is the twin pillars.

The main thing this represents is the notion of duality, which is wrongly misinterpreted as being ‘two faced’.

Francesca said: “With Gemini, there’s always two very different realities and they move to and fro from one place or situation to another very quickly.”

This sign is chatty, concerned with information, flexible and versatile. They don’t like to stay in one place for too long.


Cancer is symbolised by the Crab and the glyph depicts the crab’s claws.

Francesca said: “The Crab is indicative of Cancer’s sensitive soul inside a very crusty outer shell.”

Cancerians, like the crab, can seem defensive but they’re actually very soft inside.

The cradling arms in the glyph represent the nurturing or maternal nature of the sign.


Libra is famously represented by the Scales because they are all about balance.

Francesca said: “The scales will often sway from side to side before they find balance, because the art of balance is in exploring both sides.

“This sign is very interested in justice and law.”

It’s also important to note that this is the only sign not represented by an animal, and this speaks to the civilised nature of Libras.


Scorpios are represented by the Scorpion, which is obviously known for its stinger.

Francesa said: “Like fellow water sign Cancer, this sign is very sensitive inside with a crusty shell.

“They’ll sting you if they feel threatened in any way, so watch out!”


Sagittarius is represented by the archer, centaur, or half man, half horse.

Francesca said: “The Centaur is often shown carrying a bow and arrow pointing upwards.

“Sagittarius is very forward-thinking and looking beyond and questing.

“This sign is very rational, lofty, looking to the future and thinking ahead.

“However, they are still half-man and so they also have the base animal reactive instinct side.”


The Mountain Goat is the symbol for Capricorn, since the word itself comes from the Latin for ‘horned goat’.

Francesca explained: “Like the Mountain Goat, Capricorns are diligent and hardworking.

“This sign is always climbing to the top of the mountain, slowly but surely reaching their goals.”


Aquarius is wrongly categorised as a water sign when it is actually an air sign.

Francesca said: “The sign for Aquarius looks like electricity and Aquarius is electric, rational, and quick.

“They are full of ideas, but their sign also represents the Water Bearer who purifies and washes away the past to make space for what’s new and improved.

“It’s important to note that the Water Bearer doesn’t actually touch the water.

“Water symbolises emotions and Aquarius is just too rational to do emotions so they just observe!”


Pisces is the fish moving in two different directions.

Francesca said: “This sign is very mutable and has a certain duality to it like Gemini.

“Pisceans are very up and down and like to roam upstream or downstream as they please.”

Pisces don’t like boundaries or commitment – they are very idealistic and dreamy.

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here